Travel Diaries: Bengaluru

Posted: September 12, 2016 by Arushi in travel
Tags: , , , , , , ,

The first thing that struck me about Bengaluru was the air. The cool, fresh air, with literally no hint of pollution, especially compared to Delhi. I loved it. I cannot remember the last time I was in a car with the window down, but that is what I did here – much to my own surprise.

The city is a sprawling metropolis and it took me over an hour to reach my destination. Throughout, I kept the window open, relishing the wind.

To be honest, I didn’t really see much of the city. Of course, the fact that I went from the airport to Marathalli to Yeshwantpur Railway Station and finally to Malleswaram means that I did see the whole city. The roads anyway.

Everywhere, there is a certain beauty, a touch of green amidst all the concrete. Maybe it’s me. From Rajasthan, I have grown up to really love greenery whenever I have found it around me. I adore the bright plants that crop up after rains, even though I know they’ll die soon enough. But in Karnataka, they don’t die. There’s water. It rains very often, without being muggy – a miracle to Jaipur born and Gurgaon living me.

There were trees that had grass – at least I think it was grass – growing on their trunks, their branches – like the straggly beard Captain Jack Sparrow sports.  There was moisture in the air, there was humidity – but it was lacking that sweltering quality which I had learned to associate with dark clouds. I could not have been happier.

Of course, while the weather may have been spectacularly different – or maybe I was lucky to visit at an extremely opportune moment – from NCR, the traffic matched the National capital on its best/worst days. Remember the huge Gurgaon jam due to the rains? I spent 5 hours traversing around 4 km. Well, Bengaluru had its own version which was just as bad. Bengaluru is just HUGE. Perhaps I still haven’t let go of those notions of Jaipur and Saskatoon where you can go from one end of the city to the other in an hour.

Also, the road to the airport was amazingly green. Beautifully landscaped with so many flowers in bloom – I kept trying to click pictures – knowing that the speed of the cab was not exactly allowing for it. I think maybe this road had a lot to do with my great first impression of the city.

And then there is the airport itself. Planes land and planes take-off. What is there to rave about, right? Mostly that is true but I liked the bright colours in the stores and I loved the fact that there was free WiFi even though I did not avail the service.

But you know what the best thing was about Bengaluru? My friends. I LOVED spending time with them. Seeing them, getting hugs, enjoying conversations that could be had over the phone but were so much better in person. Every moment I spent in that city is precious because of the people I spent it with. From the midnight conversations to the skipped lunches, from the travelling to the shopping, every moment was breathtaking because they joined me. Because I had them with me and know I will always have them in my life, no matter how far in between these trips where we actually see each other.

I need to visit again. Soon.

Leave a Reply

