Silver Jubilee!!

Posted: March 26, 2014 by Arushi in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

This year I turned 25. It’s not that special, I know. Everyone does it. But, it was awesome and it was special. Not for some huge bash that I threw or some great adventure that I planned. I did not even have a bucket list that I fulfilled in the months leading up to the big day, and I could have, I was that aware of the number.

What made it truly special was that I had turned 25. Just that. No frills required.

Every day of our lives is a gift. I am blessed to have had 25 years worth of days among so many good people that I am humbled at the very thought.

I have a family who have always loved and supported me. A large, extended family where I know people I’m related to even if sometimes we’re not sure exactly how we’re related. Then of course there are the people I am closely related to and absolutely adore. They were my first friends when I was growing up and they still know exactly who I am, and will always accept me, no matter what I do.

I am lucky enough to have met people who live halfway across the world and we became the best of friends. I spent years halfway across the world from my home country and I found a second home there. We were completely different and yet, even after I moved back we’re still friends. There is nothing better than knowing that someone you have not met in years, who lives on the other side of the planet, considers you a  friend.

To have lived far away from home and yet still know that the people I love have my back no matter what. Friends who I can always count on, no matter how far apart we may be. Who’ve been at my side for over a decade and who aren’t going anywhere.  That was and is another blessing.

At first it was friends back home and friends at Uni but now, I have friends all over the world. We may not talk all that often, but I know there are times when they think of me, just like I think of them. It might be a long while before we talk, but I hope that we’ll be able to pick up where we left off when we do.

I always wanted to travel, to be a citizen of Earth and somehow, to an extent I managed that. And I know I will do more to make sure I stay that way.

Everything always clicked in a way, an internship that was one of the best things to ever happen to me, mostly because of the one person who sat next to me. I found the best offices to work in ever, something that was as good as family, whether it was when I worked for my university or when I got my first real job after the above mentioned internship.  I have colleagues I trust, who seamlessly made themselves great friends.

It was amazing how things came together at the right time. You never expect everything to fall into place for you, and it does not. But sometimes it does and that moment is worth all of the effort that goes into bringing it. I remember a day, around two years ago when I realized that in that one moment, that one day, I was perfectly content with my life. It was going in the direction I wanted, I knew what I was doing, where I was going and what I wanted. Its not a moment that lasted, because as I evolve I do change and so do my expectations from myself, yet I am blessed to have had that moment once in my life before I even lived for a quarter of a century.

This is not about the future, but this is a thank you to everyone who made the last 25 years of my life so very special by their very presence. Thank you guys!! You’re awesome!!!

Leave a Reply

