Arranged – One of my ongoing stories.

Posted: February 4, 2014 by Arushi in Original Fiction
Tags: , , , , , ,

10376010-256-kfafa0bab

There are so many quirks to every personality. I find it infinitely easier to share my stories over the internet compared to even my closest friends. Of course, I have time and again harassed my friends into listening to my stories and they have done it, heck telling them has actually given me insights on how to move forward plenty of times, but still.

Revealing something you have created, no matter what the form, is scary. It is hard to put something you cherished, something into which you poured your heart and soul, out there and hope for the best. I laud those people who have the guts to do this. 

Since 2007 I have been putting up my stories on FanFiction.net (FFN) and yet it was only in 2010 that I finally made an account on FictionPress.com (FP) under my real name. A lot of the stories are the same, because while I tended to borrow character names (and sometimes personalities) I prefer my stories to be original. Still, I can never let go of FFN, not completely, not the least of which is because of the large number of readers I have gained there over the years.

Weirdly, I have never had a problem with criticism. To me, if someone cared enough about my work to actually say something, that is a compliment in and of itself.

The only thing I really wonder about it, what facet of my personality is shining through my words and when. And how much of myself do I actually want to reveal. The same thing applied when I started this blog. Even now, I am writing a story and posting it regularly on FFN, FP and Wattpad but it has yet to be spoken about here even once.

When I write, I have space only for the actual writing but later, it is harder to push all this away. Which is why I am really glad for the fact that I can post each chapter as soon as I write it – so I do not over think it.

I am going to be brave. Because I promised a friend. Because I wanted to make a resolution, and there can be nothing better.

Here is the link to Arranged and the blurb:

Kaira and Lucian come from two families who have had an uneasy truce for as long as anyone could remember. Now for some reason, the parents want them to get together to present a ‘united front’ to a common enemy. Kaira calls bullshit but Lucian is interested. It seems like as good a chance as any to finally start dating someone he has wanted for a long while and been secretly friends with for over a decade. First though he has to convince Kaira, who has a penchant of shooting first and asking questions never. Complicating matters is the tiny problem of a gang war and of course, Kaira’s and Lucian’s siblings who thrive on mayhem.

This is a story I am in the process of writing and upload chapter by chapter. Do let me know what you think 🙂 and yes, I really do want to know.

Leave a Reply

