The Great Gatsby

Posted: April 27, 2013 by Arushi in Book Review
Tags: , ,

The Great Gatsby

 

The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald is a classic, a book you must read. Yet, I had happily not read it till now. In fact this is the 1020th book that I have read. My loss.

The story has an ethereal quality to it, an essence of moving from one incident to another, regardless of the time lapse between them, if they are relevant to each other. The author was not writing a novel, he is telling a story as he would have if I had been sitting in front of him. No, as if I had been sitting in front of Nick Carraway as he told me about his neighbor on the East coast. His friend perhaps. A man who people only knew through stories and gossip. A man called Jay Gatsby.

For the first 22 pages I wondered what was going on. I wanted to know where we were heading with this. But once Gatsby entered, all I wanted to do was know more about him. To understand who he was, where had he come from, how he had become the person that he was. His motivations, his desires, everything.

There is a strange magnetism in that man, in his madness, his passion for something almost unattainable. Nick Carraway tells the story in a way that you cannot help but be fascinated by this man, whom even the narrator suspects.

I will not really talk about the story. Read the book or wait a while and watch the movie. I don’t wish to give away any spoilers but the book is brilliant.

As for the movie, I wanted to read The Great Gatsby from the moment I saw the trailer for the movie. It was not just the video but also the song, Love is Blindness, that captivated me – inspired me to write a short about Micara in fact. It was only after I had read the book that I realized just how apt that song truly is.

Love is indeed blindness. I wish Gatsby was not blind, but then he would not be Gatsby.

Comments
  1. Lannister says:

    Love your review! 🙂

Leave a Reply

