Everywhere – All At Once

Posted: December 3, 2012 by Arushi in Thoughts
Tags: , , ,

I feel very random. There is no one thing that is able to hold my interest. I wonder where the expression, being ‘pulled in all directions’ came from?

I start a book. I stop. I start another book. I would have run out of bookmarks, thankfully, my e-reader does it for me. I could not even finish a short story from a favorite author. Now, mind you, its not as pathetic as it sounds. After all, her shorts are comparable to novellas, and she is kind enough to give them away for free on her website. But that is besides the point, the point is… I only managed to read half of it.. before I crashed. Okay, so that might have something to do with the fact that I have really bad cold.

Being sick probably also explains the scatterbrained antics I am pulling, but then again, I have never been one to give any excuse for my actions. Take me how I am, goldfish memory and all, or stay away completely. Such a brutal approach to everything, but actually it saves time. I am how I am, who I am, all the time. Pretending is hard work, and I’d rather do something more constructive with all that effort.ย I am just me, and probably extremely annoying in this post.

That went a bit off topic. Refer to the part about me being sick. Not personality wise, lets not go there, but health wise. I started this post talking about how all over the place my mind has been, well, it has! As this post is a clear indication, the phenomenon has not stopped. But its lead to some very interesting thoughts as I remember all sort of weird things for no good reason.

Like I remembered that vicks flavored kleenex made a friend look like Rudolf’s long lost brother. Or that I had a particular book hidden in the nook of my computer, and that I really wanted to read it. Yeah… maybe once I am not sick.

Also, the other night when I closed my eyes I could see them in front of my eyes. So many manuscripts that I had rejected. brutally. All it took was one ‘REJECTED’ scrawled across the envelope and its fate was sealed. I was not feeling guilty, coz some were awful, and those that were really good still did not make the cut, yet, I wish I could have spoken to a few of those writers.

Oh well.. move on, live. I learned that quite well at a wedding I recently attended. It was a grand affair and loads of fun. Something ends and something begins and basically life moves on, coz we’re too small to even be cogs in its wheel. Yet, to us we’re the most important and its best to keep it that way and enjoy every experience that comes our way ๐Ÿ™‚

So, the only thing keeping my interest during my cold has been Once Upon a Time Season 02 and so of course I have to share that. But really that’s just one hour per week. Not enough to really make me feel better. Not enough at all! Not to mention, I need to read good stuff, and finish it, not leave it after five pages coz I saw something shiny or the bed looked comfy. Reading always soothes me, but well… bit of a conundrum now…

Sigh. I guess this is more than enough whining. Recommendation for me? Honey and hot water to drink. Its awesome for my throat. For anyone else? Don’t get a cold. It’ll make you like me right now, and really, batshit crazy is not all that it’s hyped up to be ๐Ÿ˜›

Leave a Reply

