Show me the Coffee

Posted: October 12, 2012 by Arushi in Thoughts
Tags: , ,

I am going through some of my favorite UF and PNR series’ to come up with some threads that run through all of them and other than the obvious ones (magic, violence etc. on which I will do a post later) I am not finding stuff.

Now of course, I already found a lot. Magic, violence etc. does include a multitude of sins (I just wanted to say sins) but basically the point I am trying to make here is, that most of the people in these books are night-people. Whether they make the choice (wake up in the afternoon) or someone made the choice for them (sunlight is toxic) they are mostly nocturnal and they like it that way.

Other people accommodate their choice, and things work out. HEA. Well, no, when you wake up does not give you your HEA, but gimme a break, I am having an awful morning even after 2 mugs of coffee. Its like someone switched the coffee with its decaffeinated cousin and I am paying a terrible terrible price.

So, why can we not have a work day that starts.. I dunno.. at 2? and lets me work till like 10? God knows I work late anyways.. and then at least I will not feel like I am in the slow process of dying each morning. Whatever the case may be.. at times like this.. when I feel like a truck ran over me for no good reason, I kinda like the thought of being permanently nocturnal. At least then I would have an excuse.

Or maybe I should just get more coffee.

Oh and if you are wondering about the image… the pretty mugs were just made to have some good java poured into them.

My whining aside, I have been trying to come up with themes that run through UF and PNR. Its harder than I thought it would be but some of them are easy.

Night for one. After all, most of these guys are at their strongest at night. Whether it is vampires, mages, or even moon-mad weres. The over all feel of the books tends to be dark, and sometimes even gloomy, rather than bright and sunny.

It really makes me appreciate authors who manage to keep that ambiance while still pulling together an action packed story. It is even harder to do so in a romance. But when this is done right, the effect is absolutely amazing.

Just a few examples (not in order):

Kate Daniels series by Ilona Andrews. (UF)

Dorina Basarab series by Karen Chance. (UF)

Morganville Vampires by Rachel Caine. (YA)

Cassandra Palmer by Karen Chance. (UF)

Lords of the Underworld by Gena Showalter. (PNR)

I really really want to include Anita Blake by Laurell K. Hamilton, but I can only vouch for the first 9 books in that series. After that, it changes and then its very hit and miss.

I am missing out on a lot.. obviously because books are as encompassing as the ocean. But anyways, I am glad to be able to write what little I can.

Now I am going for that elusive coffee.

Leave a Reply

