Let the Sky Fall

Posted: October 10, 2012 by Arushi in Thoughts
Tags: ,

I have heard people describe music in so many ways. It is the heart, the soul, the life, the vibrancy, the joy, the sorrow, the grief, it is everything that we feel or are willing to feel. Sometimes it is what we are hiding from. It is an expression of what we do NOT want to feel but have to express in some way or the other.

I don’t claim to understand music. It is beyond me to take together different sounds and compose a melody. They will be random sounds, they will not make sense. But I can talk about music, about something that captivated my senses, that made me stop and listen for a moment, to just be. That is the beauty of music, to make you live in the moment rather than worry about the past or be anxious about the future.

Of course that is not all that music is. It is like describing the ocean, or blind men describing the elephant, only in this case, the elephant is perhaps a blue whale, or maybe a dragon. A mythical beast that all of us understand but cannot truly wrap our heads around.

For me, music is a godsend. Place a song on a loop, plug in my headphones and I am lost to the world. I can write, I can work, I can concentrate completely. It is absolute magic for someone who distracts easily. Not that I do. Oh no. Unless I am doing anything except reading a book.

So the current song stuck in my head is the new James Bond theme song Skyfall by Adele and what I am using it for is a lot of things. After all, I can shut off my iPod, not my mind. Believe me, I’ve tried.

Leave a Reply

